Viśeṣa Lagna

Viśeṣa lagna are enumerated by Maharṣi Parāśara and we start with understanding the meaning of the word ‘viśeṣa’ which means special, having a peculiarity. These viśeṣa lagna are different from the lagna in that they have a completely circular motion at uniform speed. It is the speed, relative to the average speed of the lagna that determines the bhāva they map to. For example, the Lagna moves 12 signs in 24 hours of the day and its ‘average speed’ is 2 hours per sign. The Bhāva Lagna (BL) has this exact uniform speed of 2 hours per sign. Therefore

Continue Reading


A Nakṣatra or lunar mansion is one of the 27/28 divisions of the sky, identified by the prominent star(s) in them, used in Vedic astrology. Historical (medieval) Hindu astrology enumerated either 27 or 28 nakṣatras depending on the system of usage. It is generally always 27 unless sarvatobhadra or such chakra is being used. Each nakṣatra is divided into quarters or padas of 3°20’. Since everything originates from sound, these pada which form

Location (Sidereal Longitude)
Pada 1
Pada 2
Pada 3
Pada 4

Aśvinī (अश्विनी)
0 – 13°20′ Aries
चु Chu
चे Che

Continue Reading

Śubhārambha Plan

We have a certain vision for the students of PJC Year-1 which needs to be completed with their mentor. You will notice under Members >> PJC Year-1 >> Śubhārambha that there are 15 lessons including some slide presentations. The objective of this introductory course is to give you a taste and real introduction to the knowledge of the seers. The lessons include nice examples and are well illustrated covering the entire gamut of vedic learning with a focus on jyotiṣa. We have continued the traditional way of learning this subject as the eye of the veda rather than

Continue Reading