Rāśi Svarupa

Rāśi – the zodiac signs
The sidereal zodiac is an imaginary belt of 360 degrees (like the tropical zodiac), divided into 12 equal parts. Each twelfth part (of 30 degrees) is called a sign or rāśi (Sanskrit: rāśi, ‘part’). Jyotiṣa and Western zodiacs differ in the method of measurement. While synchronically, the two systems are identical, Jyotiṣa uses primarily the sidereal zodiac (in which stars are considered to be the fixed background against which the motion of the planets is measured), whereas most Western astrology uses the tropical zodiac (the motion of the planets is measured against the

Continue Reading

Bhava Chakra: The Houses

Lesson: Bhāva Chakra
Examining the 12 houses of the chart. These are houses reckoned from Ascendant (Lagna) reckoned as 1st house.
Bhāva Chakra PDF
Bhāva Chakra Slides

Lesson: Judgment of Results
Understanding the principles involved in the judgment of the houses. Includes the well-being and destruction of houses – the causes.
Judgment of Results PDF
Judgment of Results Slides

Continue Reading

Kendra: Quadrants

None of us can feel it, but Britain rises and falls by centimeters every 12 hours and 25 minutes as a great bulge of ocean water washes around the country.
Jonathan Amos reports at BBC
Lunar Tides
The Moon’s gravity imparts tremendous energy to the Earth, raising tides throughout the global oceans. What happens to all this energy? This question has been pondered by scientists for over 200 years, and has consequences ranging from the history of the moon to the mixing of the oceans. The Moon’s gravity tugs at the Earth, causing ocean water to slosh back and forth

Continue Reading